all you ever do is change the old [for new.]

30 Jan

Tonight in my cages
In the mazes I have built
Amidst towers of numbers cold and grey
I’ve blotted out all natural light
With systematic will-power

Inside the isolation booth
of the game show of my wits
My heart submits to every tick-tock
Of the Western digital corporate clock
and I’m stuck between the gears and motor
Of a DSL, high-speed, click here to place your order
At the mercy of a wick getting shorter
Held at knife-point by the opinions of others
And walking on the shaky stones of approval
I hold my breath…

I’ve been splintered to a thousand pieces
And tied up with a thousand strings
By tall societal obligations
And my own desire to be everything

Charting out my days and trotting after merit
Like a horse behind a carrot

I’m playing hopscotch on a tightrope
I’m shooting hoops with diamond rings
It makes it seem the stakes are higher
But they don’t mean anything

So I’ve been squinting, I’ve been searching
For just something to call true
But the spotlight I demanded
Blocks my view

Hey, Remedy
cause me to see
Break me, re-make me, jog my memory
Can I have You? As the truth to my eyes
While the comings and goings rush by on either side?
While all my castles decay at the sway of the tide

Hey, Remedy
Be everything to me
And I’ll be all I can for Thee
So what do You desire to see?
What is it You require of me?
To love mercy? do justly? And walk humbly?

Leave a Reply

